As I sit at my desk, I contemplate if writing this will make a difference or if it is a waste of time.  Honestly… even if no one reads this, at least I will have had the opportunity to clear my head and share some positivity in this time of uncertainty and fear.

I am an elementary public school teacher and  I love my students.  I give them hugs, high fives, and fist bumps when I see them.  I miss them.  But I am grateful to be home in a controlled environment.  And I hope that they are in a safe environment too because their safety means the world to me!

While I have autoimmune issues and am at risk for having complications should I get COVID 19,  I am choosing to stay positive and not live in fear.  I am taking precautions and other than doctor visits and groceries… I am pretty much staying at home.   While anxiety has crept in from time to time, I am taking the time to self-care like I have never done before.  (Teachers aren’t very good at this…but  I am practicing yoga, cleaning, walking, creating art, reflecting, taking time to care for myself, and checking in with loved ones.)

The unknown is scary.  How long will this last? Will we get sick?  How will this affect my life? Will my students be okay?  Will my family members be okay?  How will this affect the county, state, and nation?  Financially, will we be alright?

I don’t know.  No one does.  But what I do know is that we ARE all in this together.  We will ALL be affected in some way- some more than others. AND we need to be kind- to each other and to ourselves.  Remember no one person can thrive alone. We really do need each other. And most importantly, our mindset is how we will get through this either negatively or positively.

Back to our kids…. Children need us to model the positive… even if we are scared to death of the worst.  But they also need us to be honest that we feel unnerved.  I am not saying sugar coat things… but be honest and believe.

Believe that everything happens for a reason and it is possible to find some positives in the negative.  I am worried, but I choose to focus on my blessings.  I am fearful that I have been exposed, but I choose to act in ways that keep me and others safe.  I feel sad we have to go through this as humans, but maybe it is a reset for how we treat others and show kindness.

I choose to be cheerful.  I choose to be the light for others- through social media.  I choose to relish the time I have at home as not everyone has the blessing to stay home.  I feel blessed to have food and necessities during a time when others are panicking and hoarding or have very little.  We can’t really know what others face. But we can ask. We can listen and we can try to understand through empathy.

We can teach our youth to do the same.  This can be a pandemic and an opportunity for growth.  This time may be filled with the most important life lessons your kids will ever learn.  How will you nurture and calm yourself, your family, and most importantly our kids in this time of uncertainty?  How will you show compassion and kindness toward others?  Will you be the change we have wished to see in the world??

 

Leave a comment